Product Standard

Livestock & Meat Commission

The Scheme Standard and Rules are drawn up by the Standard Setting Committee.

Wide consultation takes place with industry bodies. Since its launch, the scheme has been continually updated and revised as appropriate to meet changing market needs.

The Product Standard and Scheme Rules are published by the scheme and are available to all participants and applicants. These manuals give full details of all the requirements which need to be met and of the regulatory procedures which must be followed. There are 8 main sections within the Product Standard, with a total of 85 separate elements.

  1. Animal husbandry, stockmanship and welfare
  2. Animal health
  3. Animal nutrition
  4. Animal traceability – identification, sourcing and records
  5. Housing and handling
  6. Transport
  7. Environmental care
  8. Farm procedures

Some of the codes require compliance with other codes in the supply chain e.g. Welfare codes, Nutrients Action Programme etc…All additional codes of practice are available in the documentation section.

FQA Helpline: (028) 9263 3024